Click Below to Listen Live

WPGY 1580 AM & 93.7 FM

Forgot Password

Not a Member? Sign up here!

Tune in to 101.1 FM WLJA for Braves Baseball all season long!
WLJA is your home for the best in Southern Gospel music!

Local News

Impact Grants Awarded by Cherokee County Educational Foundation

The Cherokee County Educational Foundation surprised 21 local school district teachers this week with Classroom Impact Grants totaling $40,000 for this school year.

CCEF also awarded more than $10,000 in Rapid Grants of up to $500 on a monthly basis, and funds districtwide initiatives as requested.

Founded in 2012 to help raise funds and awareness for the public schools of the Cherokee County Public School District to ensure excellence in the classrooms, CCEF has awarded more than $1 million since its inception.

“This organization of community volunteers each year diligently leads the effort to make sure our teachers get those additional resources they need to help our students do their best,” CCEF Executive Director Lisa Marie Haygood said. “We continue to celebrate the innovation we see in our teachers, students, and community.”

Applications for Classroom Impact Grants open in November and are available for funding up to $2,500 per classroom. A committee of at least five judges grade the applications individually and the scores are compiled and ranked to decide which teachers are awarded grants.

The number of grants awarded each year depends on fundraising efforts at the annual Celebration of Education Gala.

“Without the outpouring of support, we would not be able to fulfill our mission. This year was a tremendous success,” Haygood said.

Classroom Impact Grants were given to the following teachers:

· Virginia Baldwin, R.M. Moore Elementary School.

· Jennifer Campbell, Dean Rusk Middle School

· Ty Casteel, Etowah High School.

· Jill Cole, Clark Creek Elementary School.

· Brooke Dillon, Mill Creek Middle School.

· Nina Eidson, Knox Elementary School.

· Jim Elder, Mill Creek Middle School.

· Adrianne Fagan, Woodstock High School.

· Jennifer Falco, E.T. Booth Middle School.

· Cathy Fernandez, E.T. Booth Middle School.

· Amanda Graves, E..T Booth Middle School.

· Chelsea Leming, Indian Knoll Elementary School.

· Denise Lewis, Oak Grove Elementary School.

· Sandy McPherson, Clayton Elementary School.

· Sarah Munroe, Macedonia Elementary School.

· Hillary Nichols, Active Academy/I-Grad.

· Tina Plousis, Hickory Flat Elementary School.

· Angela Topper, Oak Grove Elementary School.

· Keara Rubin, River Ridge High School.

· Lisa Spence, Hasty Elementary School.

· Amy Walker, Johnston Elementary School.

Listener Poll

Who is your favorite Atlanta Braves player in 2023